Dr. Blackwell's BLOG

Monday, December 4, 2017

UCF Knights Defeat Memphis to Win AAC Championship, Head to Chick Fil-A Peach Bowl, Finish Season Undefeated

Filed under: UCF Sports — Dr. Christopher Blackwell @ 00:27

The UCF Knights (12-0; 8-0 AAC) ended their season undefeated on Saturday and earned the title of 2017 American Athletic Conference Champions as they beat the Memphis Tigers (10-2; 6-2 AAC) in-front of a sold-out electrically-charged Spectrum Stadium crowd of close to 46,000! The Knights learned Sunday they would end the season ranked #12 in the CFP Rankings and will earn the coveted G5 slot in the Chick Fil-A Peach Bowl in Atlanta on January 1st. As reported by the AAC:

UCF for the second straight week prevailed in a shootout on its home field. The 12th-ranked Knights captured the American Athletic Conference championship on Saturday as they defeated No. 16 Memphis 62-55 in double overtime. It is the Knights’ third American crown in the past five years. They won the East Division last Friday with a 49-42 win over USF. It was a wild game. The top two scoring teams in the country combined for 117 points and 1,479 yards. It was tied at 48 at the end of regulation.

UCF had the ball first in the second overtime and scored on a 1-yard run by Otis Anderson. Memphis got as far as the UCF 9 on their possession but Riley Ferguson’s pass on second-and-goal was intercepted by Tre Neal as the Knights (12-0, CFP No. 15) secured a spot in a New Year’s Six bowl.The teams exchanged touchdowns in the first overtime. Memphis got the ball first and scored when Ferguson connected with Anthony Miller from 15 yards. UCF answered on a 2-yard run by Adrian Killins.

The Knights led 48-34 early in the fourth quarter but the Tigers (10-2, CFP No. 20) rallied to tie with 4:13 remaining on Ferguson’s 10-yard touchdown pass to Miller. Memphis had a chance to win it in reghttps://youtu.be/8hGtlqWKDuQulation but Riley Patterson’s 51-yard field-goal attempt with 28 seconds remaining was wide left. McKenzie Milton threw for 494 yards (28 of 40) and five touchdowns as he was named the game’s most outstanding player.

Dredrick Snelson and Tre’Quan Smith caught two touchdown passes apiece.

Milton also rushed for 64 yards and a touchdown. Otis Anderson rushed for 117 yards on 16 carries.

Memphis’ Riley Ferguson was 30 of 42 for 471 yards and four touchdowns. Miller had 14 receptions for 195 yards and three touchdowns. Darrell Hanederson (15 carries, 109 yards) and Patrick Taylor (17 carries, 108 yards) each ran for over 100 yards and had a touchdown.

The Chick Fil A Peach Bowl will be nationally-televised on ESPN with a New Years Day kickoff set for 12:30pm. Watch the AAC Championship Trophy Presentation, courtesy of the AAC, below:

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Powered by WordPress